Reading Response 7

PeerReview

 

 

In my past experiences with peer review, it probably was not worth doing to begin with. I usually get the response, “I don’t see anything that should be changed.” I would also often only get positive comments and nothing negative to work with. At the same time it felt like no one really cared to actually do the peer reviews in the first place. I think that was mostly due to the fact that we all knew that the papers didn’t mean anything to us, it was just some assigned prompt. I have been asked to make sure they stay on topic, watch for typos, tell them if the paper makes sense, if it’s ranty, boring, etc… I once received a comment that I only spaced down the page 7 times to write my title when the rubric required 8 spaces. I still don’t know how they counted my number of spaces on a white page with a title in the dead center. Most of my comments are something to improve. I try and throw in positives but I don’t think I have ever peer reviewed a paper in which the writer wanted or cared for revision. I never suggest too much as it is their paper and not mine, so I may seem apathetic. I’ve never been uncomfortable reviewing someone’s paper before. What are they going to do, chew me out for correcting them? I and they will get over it. The most memorable comment I got that was helpful was when I had my friend review a little bit of something I wrote for fun, I think it was the same chapter I uploaded to WP in an earlier post for an example. the one about Aven. His suggestions helped me fix the very end of the chapter because I didn’t like their getaway.

RR7JohnL

Leave a Reply

